The Château’s history

Origins dating back
to the 17th century.

The Château’s history goes back to 1610, when Domaine de Moussas-Bages belonged to the Jehan family, who were wine merchants and owners of several estates. In 1728, Domaine de Moussas-Bages was purchased by the Drouillard family.

The Lynches arrive on the scene in 1748.

In 1748, Thomas Lynch inherited the Domaine through his wife, Elisabeth Drouillard, and renamed it Château Lynch. In 1779, Jean-Baptiste Lynch, who was the mayor of Bordeaux in 1808, a Count of the Empire in 1811, and then Peer of France in 1815, inherited the Château and entrusted its management to his brother, Michel Lynch, a knight and the mayor of Pauillac. When Jean-Baptiste Lynch died in 1835, Château Lynch was split into two estates. Château Lynch-Moussas (located at the place named Moussas) and Lynch-Bages (located at the place named Bages) thus came into existence. Château Lynch-Moussas kept the château building.

From 1847 to 1918:
the Spanish era
and the classification of the Château.

In 1847, Château Lynch-Moussas was purchased by the Vasquez, a Spanish wine merchant family. Subsequently, in 1855, Château Lynch-Moussas was classified as a 5th Grand Cru Classé du Médoc. The official 1855 classification of the wines of Bordeaux, organised by the Bordeaux Chamber of Commerce, was set up on the occasion of the Paris Universal Exhibition at the request of Napoléon III. This classification only comprised the wines of the left bank of the river and included a “Vin Supérieur de Sauternes”, Château d’Yquem, and a Pessac-Léognan, Château Haut Brion. This classification continues to prove a guarantee of high quality to this day.

The acquisition of the Château by the Castéja family in 1919.

In 1919, Jean Castéja, the owner of Château Duhart-Milon (a 4th Grand Cru Classé in Pauillac), Château Pichon-Longueville Baron (a 2nd Grand Cru Classé in Pauillac), and Château Doisy-Védrines (a 2nd Grand Cru Classé in Sauternes and Barsac), added Château Lynch-Moussas to the family estates. At that time, the property covered over 250 hectares, 120 of which were made up of vines, woodland and pastureland. At the end of the 1960s, Jean Castéja’s sons (Pierre, Émile, Jean, and Édouard Castéja) decided to divide up the family’s assets.

From 1970 to the 2000s: the Château’s rise towards the summit.

In 1970, Émile Castéja (the husband of Denise Borie and father of Chantal Preben Hansen and Philippe Castéja) took over the reins of the Château, undertaking numerous works to overhaul the property. From a surface area that had fallen to less than ten hectares, Émile Castéja replanted the entirety of the vineyard and increased its size to 60 hectares. He modernised the Château, restoring this magnificent manor house to its former glory, and renovated the cellars to equip them with better winemaking facilities. The Château now gained renown for the high quality of its wines.

From the 2000s to the present day:
the modernisation of the Château and the birth of a Second Wine.

In the 2000s, Philippe Castéja took over the estate, adding impetus to the estate’s development and modernisation, and brought in Denis Dubourdieu and his team as wine consultants. For the 2001 vintage, Émile and Philippe Castéja launched the estate’s Second Wine, “Les Hauts de Lynch-Moussas”, produced from the estate’s youngest plots. On 21st June 2019, the Castéja family celebrated 100 years of having owned and run Château Lynch-Moussas. To mark the occasion, the Castéja family organised the 2019 Fête de la Fleur at Château Lynch-Moussas.

Since June 21, 2019, the Castéja family has owned and managed Château Lynch-Moussas for 100 years. On this occasion, the Castéja family organized the 2019 Flower Festival at Château Lynch-Moussas.

l’histoire du château

Une origine qui remonte
au XVIIE siècle.

L’histoire du Château remonte jusqu’en 1610 quand le Domaine de Moussas-Bages appartenait à la famille de Jehan, négociant en vins et propriétaire de plusieurs domaines. En 1728, le Domaine de Moussas-Bages est racheté par la famille Drouillard.

L’apparition de Lynch dès 1748.

En 1748, Thomas Lynch, hérite par sa femme, Elisabeth Drouillard, du Domaine qu’il renomme Château Lynch. En 1779, Jean-Baptiste Lynch, Maire de la ville de Bordeaux en 1808, Comte de l’Empire en 1811, puis pair de France en 1815, hérite du Château et confie sa gestion à son frère, Michel Lynch, Chevalier et Maire de Pauillac. Lorsque Jean-Baptiste Lynch décède en 1835, le Château Lynch est partagé en deux : les Châteaux Lynch-Moussas (Moussas étant situé sur le lieu-dit Moussas) et Lynch-Bages (situé sur le lieu-dit Bages) font ainsi leur apparition. Seul le Château Lynch-Moussas gardera la bâtisse.

De 1847 à 1918 :
le classement du Château
sous l’ère espagnole.

En 1847, le Château Lynch-Moussas est racheté par une famille de négociant en vins espagnole, les Vasquez. En 1855, il devient 5e Grand Cru Classé du Médoc. Cette classification officielle des vins de Bordeaux de 1855, organisée par la Chambre de Commerce de Bordeaux, a été établie à l’occasion de l’Exposition universelle de Paris, à la demande de Napoléon III. Le classement concerne uniquement les vins de la rive gauche ainsi qu’un vin Supérieur de Sauternes, le Château d’Yquem, et un Pessac-Léognan, le Château Haut Brion. Ce classement est encore gage de grande qualité aujourd’hui.

En 1919,
l’acquisition du Château par la famille Castéja.

En 1919, Jean Castéja, propriétaire des Châteaux Duhart-Milon, 4e Grand Cru Classé à Pauillac, Pichon-Longueville Baron, 2nd Grand Cru Classé à Pauillac, et Doisy-Védrines, 2nd Grand Cru Classé de Sauternes et Barsac, fait entrer le Château Lynch-Moussas dans le patrimoine de la famille Castéja. A cette époque, la propriété fait plus de 250 hectares dont 120 hectares de vignes, forêt et pâturage. A la fin des années 60, les fils de Jean Castéja, Pierre, Émile, Jean, et Édouard Castéja décident de partager les actifs familiaux.

De 1970 aux années 2000 :
vers une apogée du Château.

En 1970, Émile Castéja, marié à Denise Borie et père de Chantal Preben Hansen et de Philippe Castéja, prend les rênes du Château et entreprend de nombreux travaux. D’une propriété dont la surface des vignes s’était réduite à moins d’une dizaine d’hectares, Émile Castéja replante l’intégralité du vignoble pour atteindre 60 hectares. Il modernise le Château pour redonner son lustre à cette magnifique bâtisse, puis les Chais pour avoir un meilleur outil de vinification. A ce moment-là, le Château devient reconnu pour la qualité de son vin.

Des années 2000 à nos jours :
la modernisation du Château et la naissance d’un second vin.

Dans les années 2000, Philippe Castéja prend sa succession et intensifie les changements et modernisations avec notamment l’arrivée de Denis Dubourdieu et son équipe. C’est à l’occasion du millésime 2001 qu’Émile et Philippe Castéja ont lancé le 2nd vin du Château Lynch-Moussas, Les Hauts de Lynch-Moussas, issu des parcelles plus jeunes.

Depuis le 21 juin 2019, cela fait 100 ans que la famille Castéja possède et gère le Château Lynch-Moussas. A cette occasion, la famille Castéja a organisé la Fête de la Fleur 2019 au Château Lynch-Moussas.